October 15, 2017

1955 World Champion Brooklyn Dodgers

This vintage sports wall hanging by Classic Sports Pictures pays tribute to the four Hall of Fame Players on the 1955 World Champion Brooklyn Dodgers team.  After numerous failed attempts, that year they finally beat their crosstown rivals, the New York Yankees fulfilled the promise of many previous Dodger teams.  It was the Dodgers first and only World Series championship won while located in Brooklyn.

1955 World Champion Brooklyn Dodgers

The 1955 World Champion Brooklyn Dodgers season was a culmination of the careers of many legendary Dodger players. Catcher Roy Campanella won the 1955 National League Most Valuable Player award, his third in five years. Center fielder Duke Snider led the league in runs batted in and was second in the MVP voting.  He also hit his 200th career home run on May 10.  Jackie Robinson and Pee Wee Reese, both 36 years old, proved they could still play at a high level. Gil Hodges hit 27 home runs and drove in both Dodger runs in the seventh game of the World Series.  Carl Furillo, hit 26 home runs with a .314 batting average.  The pitching staff was anchored by Don Newcombe, who was 20–5.  It was the first time a black pitcher had won 20 games in a season.  The 22-year-old Johnny Podres was only 9–10 for the season but became the hero of the 1955 World Series by shutting out the Yankees in the seventh game.

History of the Brooklyn Dodgers

The Brooklyn Dodgers were active in the major leagues from 1884 until 1957, after which the club moved to Los Angeles, where it continued its history as the Los Angeles Dodgers.

The team was formed as the Brooklyn Grays in 1883 by real estate magnate and baseball enthusiast Charles Byrne, who convinced his brother-in-law Joseph Doyle and casino operator Ferdinand Abell to start the team with him.  The Grays played in the minor Inter-State Association of Professional Baseball Clubs that first season. Doyle became the first team manager, and they drew 6,431 fans to their first home game on May 12, 1883 against the Trenton team.  The Grays won the league title after the Camden Merritt club disbanded on July 20 and Brooklyn picked up some of its better players. The Grays were invited to join the American Association for the 1884 season.

Over the years the team would be known as the Grays, Bridegrooms, and Robins. They would eventually be called the “Dodgers” in the early 1930’s. The Dodgers played in two stadiums in South Brooklyn, each named Washington Park, and at Eastern Park in the neighborhood of Brownsville before moving to Ebbets Field in the neighborhood of Flatbush in 1913 where they played until they left Brooklyn after the 1957 season.

The Brooklyn Dodgers in the World Series

The World Series as we know it today with the American League Champions playing the National League Champions began in 1903.  The Brooklyn franchise appeared in nine World Series – years 1916 and 1920 as the Robins and 1941, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1953, 1955 and 1956 as the Dodgers.  In all of the World Series they appeared in through the 1940’s and 1950’s their opponent was the New York Yankees.  It would finally end when they could be called the 1955 World Champion Brooklyn Dodgers.